MSL-ChemCam

The MSL mission (Mars Science Laboratory) of the U.S. space agency (NASA), is a mobile robot to explore the Martian surface. This machine, three times heavier than its predecessors, is designed as a laboratory to analyze precisely the Martian rocks. Of the 10 instruments on board, the IRAP contributes greatly to the instrument ChemCam (elemental analysis of rocks up to 10m), and France is also involved in SAM (mineral and atmospheric analysis).

Onboard NASA's Mars Science Laboratory rover, the ChemCam instrument will help us understand whether rocks and soils on Mars have been altered by water and contain chemicals necessary for life.

IRAP Responsible : Sylvestre Maurice

mslchemcam

Mars Rover Curiosity in Artist's Concept

The instrument : 

ChemCam uses the technique of spectroscopic analysis in the ultraviolet and visible domains associated with laser ablation (Laser Induced Breakdown Spectroscopy, LIBS): a power laser shoots at a target, causing the melting of the material and the appearance of a plasma which is observed at a distance. This innovative technique in the field of planetology will help to select the most relevant rocks within 9m before moving the robot.

The collaborations : 

Issued from a scientific project of the planetary pole of the Midi-Pyrenees Observatory, it took five years to complete the instrument (laser, electronic telescope) under the leadership of the CESR next IRAP. The flight model was delivered in July 2008 and will be integrated into the mast of the robot. The spectrometers are under the responsibility of R. Wiens at LANL (Los Alamos National Laboratory). The French team will also take part in the daily operations of the instrument, and of course in the scientific analysis of the observations.

Further details :

The ChemCam instrument has landed on Mars in August 2012. Follow the saga of the rover and the scientific results expected on the dedicated website.

Powered by eZ Publish™ CMS Open Source Web Content Management. Copyright © 1999-2012 eZ Systems AS (except where otherwise noted). All rights reserved.

MSL-ChemCam

La mission MSL (Mars Science Laboratory) de l’Agence Spatiale Américaine (NASA), est un robot mobile pour explorer la surface de Mars. Cet engin, trois fois plus lourd que ses prédécesseurs, est conçu comme un laboratoire pour analyser précisément les roches martiennes. Parmi les 10 instruments à bord, l'IRAP contribue fortement à l’instrument ChemCam (analyse élémentaire des roches jusqu’à 10m) ; la France participe aussi à SAM (analyse minérale et atmosphérique).

L'instrument CHEMCAM livrera des informations concernant l'éventuelle érosion par l'eau des roches et du sol ainsi que la présence d'éléments chimiques nécessaires à la vie sur Mars.

Responsable IRAP : Sylvestre Maurice

mslchemcam

Mars Rover Curiosity in Artist's Concept

L'instrument : 

ChemCam utilise la technique d’analyse spectroscopique dans l’Ultra-Violet et le visible associée à l’ablation laser (Laser Induced Breakdown Spectroscopy, LIBS) : un laser de puissance tire sur une cible, ce qui entraîne la fusion du matériau et l’apparition d’un plasma que l’on observe à distance. Cette technique innovante en planétologie permettra de sélectionner les roches les plus pertinentes dans un rayon de 9m avant de déplacer le robot.

Les collaborations : 

Né d’un projet scientifique du pôle de planétologie de l’Observatoire Midi-Pyrénées, il a fallu cinq ans pour réaliser l’instrument (laser, télescope électronique) sous le pilotage du CESR puis de l'IRAP. Le modèle de vol a été livré en juillet 2008 puis intégré au mât du robot. Les spectromètres sont sous la responsabilité de R. Wiens au LANL (Los Alamos National Laboratory). L’équipe française participe aussi aux opérations quotidiennes de l’instrument, et bien sûr à l’analyse scientifique des observations.

Plus d'infos :

L'instrument CHEMCAM est sur mars depuis le 6 août 2012. Suivez l'épopée du rover ainsi que les résultats scientifiques attendus sur le site Web dédié. Son modèle structurel et thermique est exposé à la Cité de l'espace dans le cadre de l'exposition temporaire "Explorer Mars".

Application

Communiqués de Presse :

Powered by eZ Publish™ CMS Open Source Web Content Management. Copyright © 1999-2012 eZ Systems AS (except where otherwise noted). All rights reserved.