OMP > Research > Techniques et missions spatiales

Techniques et missions spatiales

BEPI-COLOMBO / MMO/MPPE/MEA

bepicolombo

Artist's impression of the BepiColombo Mercury Planetary Orbiter in orbit around Mercury. Copyright : ESA

The BepiColombo mission is a joint ESA/JAXA Mercury exploration mission. The mission consists in two platforms, Mercury Planetary Orbiter (DFO) and Mercury Magnetospheric Orbiter (MMO). It will be launched in October 2018 and will arrive around Mercury at the end of 2024.

Objectives : Exploration of Mercury's magnetosphere and solar wind at 0.3 astronomical units

Research Group : PEPS

  • Scientific Responsible : Nicolas André
  • Technical Manager : Nicolas André

MSL-ChemCam

The MSL mission (Mars Science Laboratory) of the U.S. space agency (NASA), is a mobile robot to explore the Martian surface. This machine, three times heavier than its predecessors, is designed as a laboratory to analyze precisely the Martian rocks. Of the 10 instruments on board, the IRAP contributes greatly to the instrument ChemCam (elemental analysis of rocks up to 10m), and France is also involved in SAM (mineral and atmospheric analysis).

Onboard NASA's Mars Science Laboratory rover, the ChemCam instrument will help us understand whether rocks and soils on Mars have been altered by water and contain chemicals necessary for life.

IRAP Responsible : Sylvestre Maurice

mslchemcam

Mars Rover Curiosity in Artist's Concept

CLUSTER

Cluster

The Cluster constellation

The four CLUSTER satellites were launched in July and August 2000 by two Soyuz launchers for a two years mission. The mission was granted an extension of three extra years operation in early 2002, then four more years in 2005. The mission was forseen to be ended in 2009. On October 2 2009, ESA's Science Programme Committee approuved the extension of CLUSTER mission operations until December 31 2012. On November 19 2010, ESA's Science Programme Committee approuved the extension of CLUSTER mission operations until December 31 2014, extension subjected to a mid-term review in 2012.

The ESA CLUSTER mission studies the interactions between the solar wind and the terrestrial magnetosphere.

IRAP Responsible : I. Dandouras

STEREO

Project in operation

  • Scientific leads: J.-A. Sauvaud and B. Lavraud
  • Technical leads: C. Aoustin, A. Fedorov
  • Other involved scientists: A. Opitz, B. Lavraud, P. Louarn, J. Dandouras, C. Jacquey, V. Génot, G. Fruit

EUSO-BALLON

JEM-EUSO

JEM-EUSO Telescope

JEM-EUSO will locate for the first time sources of cosmic rays and will mark the historic opening of non-photonic astronomy, based upon the study of charged particles. The main scientific questions to which JEM-EUSO will have to answer are : what are the sources able to accelerate the very energetic RCUEs particles (beyond 1020 eV) ? What is the acceleration mechanism ? Is there a link between the RCUEs sources and other sources already known in the Universe ? Can we use the RCUEs as messengers to probe the cosmos ?

JEM-EUSO aims at observing giant air showers induced in the Earth's atmosphere by cosmic ultra-energetic rays (RCUE).

IRAP Responsible : Peter von Balmoos

MAVEN

MAVEN-EN-ROUTE-VERS-MARS_articleimage

Launched in november 2013 from the Kennedy Space Center, the MAVEN Mission (Mars Atmosphere and Volatile EvolutioN) aims to study the Martian upper atmosphere and ionosphere, as well as their interactions with the solar wind.

MAVEN : Understanding Mars' climate history

IRAP Responsible : Christian Mazelle

NCT

The Nuclear Compton Telescope (NCT) is an R&D project funded by NASA, its goal is to develop a high-resolution Compton telescope for nuclear astrophysics. The PI institute of NCT is the Space Science Laboratory (University of California Berkeley). NCT is designed to study astrophysical sources of gamma-ray emission in the 200 keV - 10 MeV energy range, with high spectral resolution (E/∆E 500), moderate angular resolution (2 degrees), and sensitivity to gamma-ray polarization.

The last long duration balloon flight was planned in 2008-2009. The heart of NCT is an array of cross-strip germanium detectors with full 3D position localization of photon interactions (resolution < 2 mm3). These detectors were surrounded by an anticoincidence shield made of bismuth germanate (BGO) and an active collimator made of cesium iodine (CsI). The NCT’s team in IRAP was in charge of providing the CsI collimator and the BGO shield electronics.

PILOT

pilot

PILOT (Polarized Instrument for Long wavelength Observation of the Tenuous interstellar medium) is an astrophysical experiment of 1,100 kg on board at 40 km altitude in an 800,000 m3 stratospheric balloon to measure the polarized emission of dust grains from the interstellar medium. The CNES is responsible for the mission, launching and founds the project (2.9ME for CNES/IRAP conventions; consolidated cost CNES/CNRS/CEA of 20ME).
The purpose of the experiment is to measure the polarization of the thermal emission of dust grains present in the interstellar medium at a wavelength of 240 microns. This measurement is complementary to those of the Planck satellite at longer wavelengths. It will allow the geometry measurement of the magnetic field that surrounds the interstellar medium and plays a fundamental role in the formation of structures in general and stars in particular. It will also bring unique constraints on dust physics. Finally, it will better constrain the dependence of polarized emission on wavelength, which is critical for the fine analysis of cosmological data concerning the polarization of the microwave background. http://pilot.irap.omp.eu/PAGE_PILOT/SITE_OFFICIEL/SCIENCE/Objectifs.html_PILOT/SITE_OFFICIEL/SCIENCE/Objectifs.html

Research Group :  MICMAC

  • Scientific Responsible : J-Ph. Bernard
  • Technical Manager : B. Mot

ROSETTA

3D_Rosetta

Artist impression of ESA's Rosetta spacecraft around comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko, in 3D. The image can be viewed using stereoscopic glasses with red–green or red–blue filters. Copyright ESA / C. Carreau

Since its launch in 2004, the Rosetta probe has crossed the paths of the asteroids Steins and Lutetia. However, its main objective is to study the comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko. This meeting will take place in 2014 : as early as August, a complete mapping of the comet 67P will be realized. On November 11, the lander Philae will land on the surface of the comet and pierce several holes to study its internal composition. This mission will last only a few days. The orbiter will accompany the comet in its course towards the Sun. The onboard instruments will perform analysis of the composition of its coma and its hair.

Rendez-vous with comet 67P/Churyumov-GerasimenkoS

Scientific Responsible : C. Mazelle

SOLAR ORBITER-SWA

SolarOrbiter_illustration_410

Copyright: ESA/AOES

Solar Orbiter is ESA's M1 mission, scheduled for launch in 2020. It will approach 0.28 u.a. of the sun (closer than Mercury), and includes a payload of instruments dedicated to both remote observation of the solar surface and analysis of solar wind particles and waves. It is a joint/complementary part of the Solar Probe mission. Its particular orbit (approach/remoteness of the sun) poses major thermal challenges. In addition, it is expected to have no radio links for dozens of days (the probe will pass behind the sun). Operating autonomy is another difficulty of this mission.

Objective : Study of solar activity, with the specific aspect of the "connection": how can we link the structures seen on the solar surface, often of magnetic origin, and their dynamics to local changes in the properties of the solar wind. Also concerns the fields of space weather. Issues of crown heating, particle acceleration, shock propagation and CME.

Research Group : PEPS

  • Scientific Responsible : Ph. Louarn
  • Technical Manager : A. Fedorov
Afficher le pied de page

OMP > La recherche > Techniques et missions spatiales

Techniques et missions spatiales

BEPI-COLOMBO / MMO/MPPE/MEA

bepicolombo

Artist's impression of the BepiColombo Mercury Planetary Orbiter in orbit around Mercury. Copyright : ESA

La mission BepiColombo est une mission conjointe ESA/JAXA d’exploration de Mercure. La mission consiste en deux plateformes, Mercury Planetary Orbiter (MPO) et Mercury Magnetospheric Orbiter (MMO). Elle sera lancée en Octobre 2018 et arrivera autour de Mercure fin 2024.

Objectifs : Exploration de la magnétosphère de Mercure et du vent solaire à 0.3 unités astronomiques.

Groupe thématique : PEPS

  • Responsable scientifique : Nicolas André
  • Responsable technique : Nicolas André

MSL-ChemCam

La mission MSL (Mars Science Laboratory) de l’Agence Spatiale Américaine (NASA), est un robot mobile pour explorer la surface de Mars. Cet engin, trois fois plus lourd que ses prédécesseurs, est conçu comme un laboratoire pour analyser précisément les roches martiennes. Parmi les 10 instruments à bord, l'IRAP contribue fortement à l’instrument ChemCam (analyse élémentaire des roches jusqu’à 10m) ; la France participe aussi à SAM (analyse minérale et atmosphérique).

L'instrument CHEMCAM livrera des informations concernant l'éventuelle érosion par l'eau des roches et du sol ainsi que la présence d'éléments chimiques nécessaires à la vie sur Mars.

Responsable IRAP : Sylvestre Maurice

mslchemcam

Mars Rover Curiosity in Artist's Concept

CLUSTER

Cluster

The Cluster constellation

Les quatre satellites CLUSTER ont été lancés en 2000 par deux lanceurs Soyouz pour une mission de deux ans. La mission a été prolongée de trois ans au début 2002, puis de quatre ans en 2005. Il était prévu que la mission se termine fin 2009. Le 2 octobre 2009, le Comité de Programme Scientifique de l'ESA a prolongé une nouvelle fois la mission CLUSTER jusqu'en décembre 2012. Le 19 novembre 2010, le Comité de Programme Scientifique de l'ESA a prolongé une nouvelle fois la mission CLUSTER jusqu'en décembre 2014 sous réserve d'une revue en 2012.

La mission CLUSTER de l'ESA a pour objet d'étudier l'interaction du vent solaire avec la magnétosphère terrestre.

Responsable IRAP : I. Dandouras

STEREO

Projet en exploitation

  • Responsables scientifiques : J.-A. Sauvaud et B. Lavraud
  • Autres scientifiques impliqués : A. Opitz, B. Lavraud, P. Louarn, J. Dandouras, C. Jacquey, V. Génot, G. Fruit
  • Responsables techniques : C. Aoustin, A. Fedorov
  • Autres personnels techniques impliqués : ....

EUSO-BALLON

JEM-EUSO

JEM-EUSO Telescope

JEM-EUSO localisera pour la première fois des sources de rayons cosmiques et marquera l’ouverture historique de l’astronomie non-photonique, basée sur l'étude des particules chargées. Les question scientifiques principales auxquelles JEM-EUSO devra répondre sont : quelles sources sont capables d'accélérer des particules de l'énergie des RCUEs (au-delà de 1020 eV) ? Quel est le mécanisme d’accélération ? Existe-t-il un lien entre les sources de RCUEs et d’autres sources déjà connues dans l’univers ? Peut-on se servir des RCUEs comme messagers pour sonder le cosmos ?

JEM-EUSO a pour but l’observation des gerbes atmosphériques géantes induites dans l’atmosphère terrestre par les rayons cosmiques ultra-énergétiques (RCUE)

Responsable IRAP : Peter von Balmoos

MAVEN

MAVEN-EN-ROUTE-VERS-MARS_articleimage

Lancée en novembre 2013 depuis le Centre Spatial Kennedy, la sonde MAVEN (Mars Atmosphere and Volatile EvolutioN) a pour objet d'étudier la haute atmosphère et l'ionosphère martiennes, ainsi que leurs interactions avec le vent solaire.

MAVEN : Comprendre l'évolution climatique de Mars

Responsable IRAP : Christian Mazelle

NCT

Le projet Nuclear Compton Telescope (NCT) est une R&D financée par la NASA pour développer un télescope Compton à haute résolution pour l’astrophysique nucléaire. Ce projet est mené par le Space Science Laboratory (University of California Berkeley). Le NCT est destiné à l’observation des émissions gamma dans le domaine en énergie 200 keV – 10 MeV. Cet instrument aura des capacités d’imagerie (résolution angulaire 2 degrés), de spectroscopie fine (résolution E/∆E 500) et de polarimétrie.

Son dernier vol en ballon stratosphérique longue durée a eu lieu en décembre 2008. Le NCT était alors muni de 12 détecteurs en germanium avec des capacités de localisation des interactions des photons à 3 dimensions (résolution < 2 mm3). Ces détecteurs ont été placés dans un blindage actif en bismuth germanate (BGO) et entourés d’un collimateur actif en iodure de césium (CsI). L’équipe NCT de l'IRAP a pris en charge la maintenance de l’électronique du blindage en BGO et la réalisation du collimateur en CsI.

PILOT

pilot

PILOT (Polarized Instrument for Long wavelength Observation of the Tenuous interstellar medium) est une expérience d'astrophysique de 1 100 kg embarquée à 40 km d’altitude sous ballon stratosphérique de 800 000 m3 pour mesurer l'émission polarisée des grains de poussières du milieu interstellaire. Le CNES est responsable de la mission, du lancement et finance le projet (2,9ME pour les conventions CNES/IRAP; coût consolidé CNES/CNRS/CEA de 20ME).

Le but de l’expérience est de mesurer la polarisation de l’émission thermique des grains de poussière présents dans le milieu interstellaire à une longueur d’onde de 240 microns. Cette mesure est complémentaire de celles du satellite Planck à plus grandes longueurs d’ondes. Elle permettra la mesure de géométrie du champs magnétique qui baigne le milieu interstellaire et joue un rôle fondamental dans la formation des structures en général et des étoiles en particulier. Elle apportera également des contraintes uniques sur la physique des poussières. Enfin, elle permettra de mieux contraindre la dépendance de l’émission polarisée avec la longueur d’onde, qui est critique pour l’analyse fine des données cosmologiques concernant la polarisation du fond micro-onde. http://pilot.irap.omp.eu/PAGE_PILOT/SITE_OFFICIEL/SCIENCE/Objectifs.html

Groupe thématique : MICMAC

  • Responsable scientifique : J-Ph. Bernard
  • Responsable technique : B.Mot

ROSETTA

3D_Rosetta

Artist impression of ESA's Rosetta spacecraft around comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko, in 3D. The image can be viewed using stereoscopic glasses with red–green or red–blue filters. Copyright ESA / C. Carreau

Depuis son lancement en 2004, la sonde ROSETTA a croisé les trajectoires des astéroïdes Steins et Lutetia. Toutefois, son objectif principal est d'étudier la comète 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko. Cette rencontre aura lieu en 2014 : dès le mois d'août, une cartographie complète de la comète 67P sera réalisée. Le 11 novembre, l'atterisseur Philae se posera à la surface de la comète et percera quelques orifices afin d'étudier sa composition interne. Cette mission ne durera que quelques jours. L'orbiteur accompagnera la comète dans sa course en direction du Soleil. Les instruments embarqués effectueront notamment des mesures de composition de sa coma et de sa chevelure.

Rendez-vous avec la comète 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko

Responsable scientifique : C. Mazelle

SOLAR ORBITER-SWA

SolarOrbiter_illustration_410

Copyright: ESA/AOES

Solar Orbiter est la mission M1 de l’ESA, prévue pour un lancement en 2020. Elle s’approchera à 0.28 u.a du soleil (plus proche donc que Mercure), et comporte une charge utile d’instruments dédiés autant à l’observation à distance de la surface solaire que l’analyse des particules et des ondes du vent solaire. Elle est conjointe/complémentaire de la mission Solar Probe. Son orbite particulière (approche/éloignement du soleil) pose des gros défis de thermiques. Par ailleurs, il est prévu d’avoir des absences de liens radio pendant des dizaines de jours (passage de la sonde derrière le soleil). L’autonomie de fonctionnement est une autre difficulté de cette mission.

Objectif : Etude de l’activité solaire, avec l’aspect spécifique de la ‘connection’ : comment peut-on relier les structures vues à la surface solaire, souvent d’origine magnétique, et leur dynamique aux modifications locales des propriétés du vent
solaire. Concerne aussi les domaines de la météo spatiale. Questions du chauffage de la couronne, de l’accélération des particules, de la propagation des chocs et des CME.

Groupe thématique : PEPS

  • Responsable scientifique : Ph. Louarn
  • Responsable technique : A. Fedorov
Afficher le pied de page