EUSO-BALLON

JEM-EUSO

JEM-EUSO Telescope

JEM-EUSO will locate for the first time sources of cosmic rays and will mark the historic opening of non-photonic astronomy, based upon the study of charged particles. The main scientific questions to which JEM-EUSO will have to answer are : what are the sources able to accelerate the very energetic RCUEs particles (beyond 1020 eV) ? What is the acceleration mechanism ? Is there a link between the RCUEs sources and other sources already known in the Universe ? Can we use the RCUEs as messengers to probe the cosmos ?

JEM-EUSO aims at observing giant air showers induced in the Earth's atmosphere by cosmic ultra-energetic rays (RCUE).

IRAP Responsible : Peter von Balmoos

The experiment

EUSO BALLON is both a demonstrator and the precursor of JEM-EUSO and of any space mission dedicated to the study of ultra-energetic cosmic rays. The IRAP researchers will soon test a prototype of the detection plane (PDM, consisting of multi-anode multipliers) with a Fresnel lens in space conditions : study a true background noise and observe the fluorescence photons emitted by air showers. From the stratospheric balloon, EUSO BALLON will then allow the first detection of a giant air-shower « from the above » and will open the way to space, that is to say, towards JEM-EUSO.

Collaborations

EUSO-BALLON is intended as a « light » balloon with a full « cycle » over three years (implementation, integration, calibration, testing, balloon flight(s), data mining). The JEM-EUSO collaboration provides the focal plane (assembled PDM), and the Fresnel lens, the integration, the ground testing and the flight(s) are realized by a team gathering IRAP and CNES members.

Further Resources

Afficher le pied de page

EUSO-BALLON

JEM-EUSO

JEM-EUSO Telescope

JEM-EUSO localisera pour la première fois des sources de rayons cosmiques et marquera l’ouverture historique de l’astronomie non-photonique, basée sur l'étude des particules chargées. Les question scientifiques principales auxquelles JEM-EUSO devra répondre sont : quelles sources sont capables d'accélérer des particules de l'énergie des RCUEs (au-delà de 1020 eV) ? Quel est le mécanisme d’accélération ? Existe-t-il un lien entre les sources de RCUEs et d’autres sources déjà connues dans l’univers ? Peut-on se servir des RCUEs comme messagers pour sonder le cosmos ?

JEM-EUSO a pour but l’observation des gerbes atmosphériques géantes induites dans l’atmosphère terrestre par les rayons cosmiques ultra-énergétiques (RCUE)

Responsable IRAP : Peter von Balmoos

L'expérience

EUSO BALLON est à la fois un démonstrateur et le précurseur de JEM-EUSO et de toute mission spatiale dédiée à l’étude des rayons cosmiques ultra-énergétiques. Les chercheurs de l'IRAP vont prochainement tester un prototype du plan de détection (PDM, consistant de photomultiplicateurs multi-anodes) avec une optique de Fresnel dans des conditions spatiales : étudier un bruit de fonds réel et observer des photons de fluorescence émis par les gerbes atmosphériques. Depuis sa nacelle embarqué en ballon stratosphérique, EUSO BALLON permettra alors la première détection d’une gerbe atmosphérique géante "par le dessus" et ouvrira ainsi la voie de l’espace, c'est-à-dire vers JEM-EUSO.

Les collaborations

EUSO-BALLON se veut un projet ballon "light", avec un "cycle" complet dans un intervalle de trois ans (mise en œuvre, intégration, calibration, test, vol(s) ballon, l’exploitation des données). La collaboration JEM-EUSO met à disposition le plan focal (PDM assemblé) et l'optique de Fresnel, l'intégration, les tests sol, et le(s) vol(s) sont réalises par une équipe intégrée entre IRAP et la division ballon du CNES.

Ressources complémentaires

Afficher le pied de page