NCT

The Nuclear Compton Telescope (NCT) is an R&D project funded by NASA, its goal is to develop a high-resolution Compton telescope for nuclear astrophysics. The PI institute of NCT is the Space Science Laboratory (University of California Berkeley). NCT is designed to study astrophysical sources of gamma-ray emission in the 200 keV - 10 MeV energy range, with high spectral resolution (E/∆E 500), moderate angular resolution (2 degrees), and sensitivity to gamma-ray polarization.

The last long duration balloon flight was planned in 2008-2009. The heart of NCT is an array of cross-strip germanium detectors with full 3D position localization of photon interactions (resolution < 2 mm3). These detectors were surrounded by an anticoincidence shield made of bismuth germanate (BGO) and an active collimator made of cesium iodine (CsI). The NCT’s team in IRAP was in charge of providing the CsI collimator and the BGO shield electronics.

nct2

CsI scintillators of the NCT’s collimator

The next balloon flight of NCT is planned for spring 2014 from the South hemisphere to observe the central regions of our Galaxy (positron annihilation emission, gamma ray line from the decay of 26Al nuclei produced by massive stars,...) and Active Galactic Nuclei (Cen A, 2C273). For this flight, IRAP is in charge of the development of a new electronic box that analyzes the signals from the active shield, with a financial support from the CNES.

The in-flight performance of the NCT will validate the feasibility and the gain in sensitivity that could be achieved by a Compton Telescope in space for a next generation of gamma-ray observatory (e.g. Advanced Compton Telescope project - http://online.itp.ucsb.edu/online/snovae07/boggs/). The scientific objectives of such an observatory include : study of galactic nucleosynthesis (supernovae, novae, massive stars), origin of galactic positrons, observation of cosmic-ray interactions with the interstellar medium, physics of compact objects (black-holes, neutron stars, AGN, blazars) and gamma-ray bursts.

Complementary information : http://www.ssl.berkeley.edu/gamma/nct.html

Contact : P. Jean (Professor)

IRAP Team : P. von Ballmoos (Professor), P. Mandrou (Engineer), G. Rouaix (Engineer), V. Waegebaert (Engineer), G. Roudil (Technician)

External collaborators : S. Boggs (Assistant Professor — PI of NCT)

Afficher le pied de page

NCT

Le projet Nuclear Compton Telescope (NCT) est une R&D financée par la NASA pour développer un télescope Compton à haute résolution pour l’astrophysique nucléaire. Ce projet est mené par le Space Science Laboratory (University of California Berkeley). Le NCT est destiné à l’observation des émissions gamma dans le domaine en énergie 200 keV – 10 MeV. Cet instrument aura des capacités d’imagerie (résolution angulaire 2 degrés), de spectroscopie fine (résolution E/∆E 500) et de polarimétrie.

Son dernier vol en ballon stratosphérique longue durée a eu lieu en décembre 2008. Le NCT était alors muni de 12 détecteurs en germanium avec des capacités de localisation des interactions des photons à 3 dimensions (résolution < 2 mm3). Ces détecteurs ont été placés dans un blindage actif en bismuth germanate (BGO) et entourés d’un collimateur actif en iodure de césium (CsI). L’équipe NCT de l'IRAP a pris en charge la maintenance de l’électronique du blindage en BGO et la réalisation du collimateur en CsI.

nct2

Scintillateurs en CsI du collimateur pour le Nuclear Compton Telescope.

Le prochain vol ballon de NCT est prévu pour le printemps 2014, depuis l'hémisphère Sud pour observer les régions centrales de notre Galaxie (émission d'annihilation des positrons, raie gamma de la décroissance des noyaux d'26Al produits par les étoiles massives, ...) et des noyaux actifs de galaxie (Cen A, 3C273). Pour ce prochain vol, l'IRAP développe un nouveau boitier électronique pour l'analyse des signaux du blindage actif, avec un soutien financier du CNES.

Les performances en vol du NCT permettront de valider la faisabilité et le gain en sensibilité que pourrait avoir un télescope Compton spatialisable pour la prochaine génération d’observatoire gamma (ex. projet Advanced Compton Telescope - http://online.itp.ucsb.edu/online/snovae07/boggs/). Les objectifs scientifiques d’un tel observatoire seraient : l’étude de la nucléosynthèse (supernovae, novae, étoiles massives), la recherche de l’origine des positrons galactiques, l’observation des interactions du rayonnement cosmique avec le milieu interstellaire, la physique des objets compacts (trous-noirs, étoiles à neutrons, AGN, blazars) et les sursauts gamma.

Informations complémentaires : http://www.ssl.berkeley.edu/gamma/nct.html

Contact : P. Jean (Professeur des Universités)

Equipe de l'IRAP : P. von Ballmoos (Professeur des Universités), P. Mandrou (Ingénieur de Recherche), G. Rouaix (Ingénieur de Recherche), Vincent Waegebaert (Ingénieur de Recherche), G. Roudil (Ingénieur d'études)

Collaborateurs externes : S. Boggs (Assistant Professor — PI du projet NCT)

Afficher le pied de page